Gradient

November 19-21 // Schedule 

2020 Virtual Conference

Theme: “SABBATH: ROOTS, REST & RESISTANCE”

 

Wednesday and Thursday, November 18-19, 2020

 

Sectional Meetings + Conveners

 

Old Testament (Convener: Jody Washburn)

Wednesday, November 18 at 3.30pm (PST)/6.30pm (EST)

Topic Title: “OT Perspectives on Crisis”

World Religions/Missiology (Convener: John Jones)

Wednesday, November 18 at 7.00am (PST)/10.00am (EST)

Topic Title: “What I Wish They Had Taught Me in College and Seminary about World Religions: Three Lessons for a More Impactful Ministry”with Samir Selmanović

 

New Testament (Convener: Erhard Gallos)

Wednesday, November 18 at 5.30pm (PST)/8.30pm (EST) 

Topic Title: “Confirmation Bias in Research”

 

Christian Theology and History (Convener: Martin Hanna)

Wednesday, November 18 at 3.30 (PST)/6.30 (EST) 

Topic Title: “The New Andrews University Theological Center for Interdisciplinary Dialogue”

Philosophy and Ethics (Convener: Roy Benton)

Wednesday, November 18 at 5pm (PST)/8pm (EST)

Topic Title: “Planning Session for the Society of Adventist Philosophers”

Practical Theology (Convener: Ernie Furness) will join the Women in Theology Group (Anne Collier-Freed)

Thursday, November 19 at 3pm (PST)/6pm (EST)

Topic Title: “Does Seventh-day Adventist Healthcare Have a Formation Problem?”

 

Black Theology Group (Convener: Lincoln Nogueira)

Thursday, November 19 at 3.30pm (PST)/6.30pm (EST).

Topic Title: “Adventist Black Theology in light of George Floyd and other 2020 events”

Thursday, November 19, 2020 (5pm-7pm PST)

 

5.00-5.30pm PST

Welcome (Erik C. Carter and Mathilde Frey)

 

5.30-7pm PST

Presidential Address (Mathilde Frey)

 

Friday, November 20, 2020 (7am-5.30pm PST)

 

Welcome (Erik C. Carter)

 

7.00-8.30am PST

Session 1: Bible and History (Chair: Ross Winkle)

Melissa Brotton, “Established Forever: The People of God in the Sabbath Psalm”

Andy Blosser, “The Earth-Healing Sabbath: Jesus’ Sabbath Miracles and Adventist Sabbath Ethics”

Warren Trenchard, “Evidence for the Sabbath in Christianity before AD 60”

 

Live Q+A

 

8.30-8.45am PST

Break

 

8.45-10.15am PST

Session 2: Theology and Ethics (Chair: Mark Carr)

Rick Rice, “The Sabbath and Human Wholeness: Expanding the Adventist Vision”

 

Daryll Ward, “Being, Holiness and Freedom: On the Sacramental Character of the Sabbath”

 

Nicholas Miller, “Prophecy, Sabbath and Jubilee:  The Social Justice Implications for Developing Nations of an Eschatological Sabbath Message”

 

Live Q+A

 

12-1.30pm PST

Session 3: Practical Theology (Chair: Ante Jeroncic)

Vaughn Nelson, “Disabling Sabbath: Practical Theological Possibilities in Calibrating Sabbath Time to ‘Crip Time’”

 

Liam Gearon and Arniika Kuusisto, Sanctifying the Sabbath: Rest as Resistance – Life Trajectories of Finnish Adventist Youth

 

Live Q+A

 

1.30-1.45pm PST

Break

 

1.45-3.15pm PST

Session 4: World Religions (Chair: Paul Dybdahl)

Marina Garner-Assis and Luiz Gustavo Assis, “Shabbat, Istauua, or both? Connections Between the Qur’anic and the Biblical Seventh Day of Creation”

 

Erik C. Carter, “The Converging of the Ways?: What Sabbath Practice Can Teach Us about Jewish-Christian and Intra-Christian Relations Today”

 

Andrew Tompkins, “Learning about the Sabbath from Hindu Devotees”

 

Live Q+A

 

4.30pm PST

Joint Worship Service with the Adventist Theological Society (Sponsored by the North American Division of SDA)

 

Sabbath, November 21, 2020 (8am-2.30pm PST)

 

8-9.30am PST

Panel Discussion #1: “Sabbath and Justice” (Chair: Erik C. Carter; Participants: Mathilde Frey, Marina Garner-Assis, Olive Hemmings, Zack Plantak, Buster Swoopes)

 

9.30-10.00am PST

Break

 

10.00-11.30am PST

Welcome + Prayer

Erik C. Carter

Musical Meditation

Oakwood University’s Aeolians

Silence

Reading of Scripture (Jn. 5:15-18)

Denis Fortin

Introduction of Speaker

Erik C. Carter

 

Message

Sigve K. Tonstad, “Meanings that We Need: Does the Sabbath Have Them?”

Silence

i

Confessional + Liturgy

Anne Collier-Freed

Silence

 

Special Music

Oakwood University’s Aeolians

Closing Thoughts

Erik C. Carter

Closing Prayer

Sigve K. Tonstad

 

1.00pm-2.30pm PST

Panel Discussion #2: “Higher Education in the Age of Covid-19 and BLM” (Chair: Michael W. Campbell; Participants: Gordon Bietz, Ivan Williams, Lisa Beardsley-Hardy, Delbert W. Baker, Amy Rosenthal).

©2023 ASRS. All rights reserved.